I want to sing

On my second day in Burkina, I find myself at a place called the Dorcas House.  A place where girls have experienced some of life’s toughest trials, and yet where joyful singing can be heard before you even step foot inside the perimeter.  Singing that has no end; singing to a King who is worthy.  It truly is a tiny, glorious glimpse of heaven.

I walk nervously into the room where 50 girls are gathered, learning a Bible lesson in French and Jula.  I find my way near the back part of the room where these beautiful faces eagerly make a space for me.  Even though I don’t understand what is going on around me, I can feel the presence of God, and it is overwhelming.  Just as the heat, mixed with unfamiliar languages, threatens to make my mind wander away, suddenly, a strong, high-pitched voice pierces through the air. Soon, a djembe joins in to create the kind of wonderful African beat you dream about….well, at least I dream about African beats!  Then, all of the girls erupt in a magnificent song, standing up to dance in worship.  I don’t know what to do, so I just sit there amazed.  The girl sitting next to me happens to know English, so she leans over and says to me, “Do you know what they are singing? The words are: Jesus is coming back, and if you are not ready, you are not going with Him.”

All of the breath left my lungs.  They sing because they are ready.  We sing because we are ready for Christ to return, and we long for Him to return.  We praise the holy God of Israel, because He is faithful. Not only did He give us His only Son to save us, but He has a plan to redeem all of creation.  Jesus is coming back.  I gaze in awe at this display of worship.  Some of these girls have been beaten in their villages because of their faith, some have been abandoned and neglected, some had been sold into vile situations, but all, with their faces turned toward heaven, hope in the Almighty God.  Their eyes light up with the precious love of our Savior’s.  He is so beyond spectacular in them.  Their faith is far greater than mine, and all I want to do is sit at their feet and learn from them.

These are my sisters.  We worship the Great I Am.

I couldn’t have imagined a more perfect beginning to my stay in Africa.  It was the most beautiful gift, and I will forever treasure it in my heart.  Thank you, Father, for allowing me to worship You alongside my sisters in Burkina. Thank you for showing me a clearer picture of what it means to truly rely on you.  We are desperate for You.  Thank you for their raw, passionate faith.  Would You please open their hearts and lavish them with your perfect and abounding love?  Would You please bless them the way that they have blessed me?  Oh God, you are way too good to me.  Blessed be Your Name forever and ever. Amen.

He put a new song in my mouth, a song of praise to our God. Many will see and fear, and put their trust in the LORD. Psalm 40:3

About Autumn

I'm a southwestern PA-er so I say 'pop' and sometimes 'yinz', ok? I'm a passionate follower of Jesus Christ with a heart for the nations. Currently my mission field is Penn State University campus, and the town of State College!!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to I want to sing

  1. Betty Arnold says:

    We are so glad you are here with us, we know you were ordained to come, and we look forward to seeing God work in and through you and how he uses you and also refines you during this year of service. Thank you for coming!

  2. Peace by war says:

    I die every day.
    I literally gasped reading the words of their song. I love them. I love you.

  3. Kari says:

    I love this so much! God is so glorified in this! I’m beyond excited for heaven and this just got me that much more excited!

  4. Sue Higgins says:

    Beautiful awesome almighty God has inspired your mind and the words of your lips..let HIM be praised forevermore!

Leave a Reply

