Emptied.

I am weak. I am proud. I am boastful. Here, I have nothing to offer. I am dependent. I am needy. I can’t rely on any of my own skills or talents. I can’t speak the language. I can’t drive. I can’t sew or cook or perform a normal function in my own house without asking 10 questions. I have nothing. He has brought me to a place where I need Him more than I’ve ever needed Him. I need the prayers of the saints and encouragement from brothers and sisters in Christ more than ever. I’m afraid. I’m afraid of how much I’m being humbled. I try to mask the fear with false confidence. I try to act like I have it all together- but I don’t. It’s like one ugly mask on top of another ugly beast. The blind leads the blind inside of my heart.

“Son of David, don’t pass me by. ‘Cause I am naked, I’m poor, and I’m blind.”

If I truly lay down my life, these are the times when His power is displayed in the most magnificent and mighty ways. I have nothing. I have nothing but the God of the Universe. The Holy God of Israel is my Father, and His Spirit lives inside of me. I have more than enough. When I am weak, I am strong. I have nothing to offer, except HIS love and HIS power that conquered the grave. I. lack. no. thing.

Father, have mercy on me. I lay down my life before your throne. I need You. Give me the strength to die every day, so that I can truly live.

About Autumn

I'm a southwestern PA-er so I say 'pop' and sometimes 'yinz', ok? I'm a passionate follower of Jesus Christ with a heart for the nations. Currently my mission field is Penn State University campus, and the town of State College!!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Emptied.

  1. Quinn says:

    I’m here in America and I feel similarly right now… which makes me feel extra lame. But as you say, I’m learning to depend on God alone, I need to die to myself daily, unfortunately I forget this…. it’s a loooong learning process. I love you Autumn! Praying!

Leave a Reply

